"When booking Four Friends Acoustic Music Series, I look for the songwriter's songwriter. Jaime Michaels fits that description and fulfilled my expectations with zest, soulful, heart-bending lyrics, and clean expertise in the guitar department.  His humor suited the audience, and kept everyone engaged and delighted with his fine storytelling ability.  He brought a good group of fans out to our beautiful warm venue in Thousand Oaks, California.
I look forward to seeing him perform again.....anywhere, anytime."
Marilyn Babcock / Four Friends Acoustic Music Series
"Whether you hear Jaime Michaels outside in front of hundreds, on stage in a mid-size concert hall, or in a house concert, he connects! His innovative and captivating song writing and lyrical styling are totally engaging. His humorous asides and insights into his creative process really compliment the stick-in-your mind rhythm and prose of his songs and guitar artistry."
Tom Mauter / Santa Fe Performance Exchange
check out Jaime's recordings / click cover to purchase or download


the man with the time machine     


"Unknown Blessings" is a heartelt love letter to the artists and songs that have come to define the Kerrville Folk Festival. These 14 finely wrought tunes, two of which Michaels co-wrote , are a reminder that even in this age of hipster groove-folk and layer cake production, in the end, it's all about the song"   
April Reese - indie journalist

"It's astounding the things you can pick up sitting around the campfire at the Kerrville Folk Extraviganza. Jaime Michaels has assembled a collection of some of the finest songwriters on the folk music carousel for Unknown Blessings including this gem ("dirty wine") penned by Michaels and Annie Wenz. This isn't 'train spotter' folk music folks. Dirty Wine is a crafty blend of folk, jazz and shuffling blues with hints of Chet Atkins, Wes Montgomery and Lionel Hampton. Tasty!"
Right on schedule, Jaime is poised to release his 10th album in the past 20 years.  This one is called "once upon a different time", with all songs written by Jaime...mostly new tunes with a couple of re-recorded favorites.  Once again Jono Manson is the producer (their 9th project together) with the bulk of the recording tracked and mixed at Kitchen Sink Studio in beautiful downtown Chupadero, New Mexico.

Jaime was joined in the studio by his regular team of players, guitarist Ben Wright, bassist Josh Martin and drummer Mark Clark.  They are joined by special guests including keyboardist Jason Crosby (Phil Lesh and Bob Weir), singers David Berkeley and Melissa Greener, mandolinist John Egenes, banjo player Sam Armstrong Zickefoos, Round Mountain's Char Rothschild, bassist Justin Bransford and NYC sax man Craig Dryer (with Jono sittin' in on guitar and vocals).

The album will be released on Appaloosa Records (Italy) and frumdahart/con artisti (USA) on June 5th, 2016.

(One of the rerecorded tunes, "winter song", was released in Europe on a holiday compilation put out by Medicine Show Records....you can check it out by clicking

Jaime was recently chosen for an "honorable mention" in the 2015 Telluride Troubadour Contest

"unknown blessings" won three awards at the 2014 New
Mexico Music awards, "album of the year", "song of the year" (for dirty wine, a co-write with Annie Wenz) and the Norman Petty Producer of the Year award for Jono Manson

"unknown blessings" has raised thousands for the Kerrville Folk Festival Foundation's Music Camp for Teens
This one is an album of cover tunes (Jaime's little tip o' the hat to his all time musical hero, Tom Rush).   The album is called "unknown blessings" and features songs written by friends with whom he shares a love for the late night campfires and song circles at the Kerrville Folk Festival.  The album was released at the 2013 festival where Jaime played an in-the-round concert with Rj Cowdery, Annie Wenz and Dan Navarro. 100% of the money from the sale of the album will be donated to the Music Camp for Teens that the festival runs in conjunction with the Kerrville Folk Music Foundation. The CD is available now at Nimbit.com and  iTunes. 

Jaime has recorded songs by written by Dan Navarro, Jack Hardy, Drew Nelson, Greg Trooper,  Pat Maloney, Rj Cowdery, Joe Crookston,  Amy Speace, Caroline Aiken, Ben Bochner, Chad Elliott & Jeff Talmadge.  The album also contains two co-writes, one with Annie Wenz and one with Mare Lennon.  He's being backed by two of Santa Fe's best players, Ben Wright on guitar and Josh Martin on upright bass with special guest appearances by England's George Breakfast, singer Larkin Gayl, Texas accordionist Joel Guzman, Austin's Albert & Gage, New Zealander John Egenes on mandolin and dobro, father-son team Jeff Scroggins (banjo & Tristan Scroggins (mandolin), percussionist Mark Clark, pianist  Chris Ishee, banjoist Tom E Adler and vibist Angela Gabriel.  Once again, the whole shebang was recorded and produced by Jono Manson who also puts in an appearance (this is their 8th album together).
scroll to the bottom of the page for a video about the
Music Camp For Teens
for more info on how to sponsor a teen go to -
© 2016 frumdahart productions all rights reserved